Staff List
Click on a staff member's name to view bio.

A Xiong
Attendance/Truancy Coordinator
Classroom Support
Mr. Xiong graduated from Metropolitan State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management. He would eventually like to become a business man. He likes to fish, play basketball, soccer, and football. He loves to go on vacation during Christmas.

Languages: English, Hmong
axiong@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Ahmed Elmi
Technology
Mr. Elmi's first degree was secondary education. He is currently finishing masters of education in ESL at Hamline University. He was in the computer field since 1995. He received MCSE (Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer) in 1997. He taught ESL/ELL/Math in Minneapolis Public Schools and St. Paul Public Schools since 1995. He created the SALT program in St.Paul. (Somali Academic Language Literacy) where some schools introduce students first language. He enjoys traveling and having a cup of coffee.

Languages: English, Somali and Arabic
ahelmi@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Farhan Hussein
Executive Director
Mr. Hussein joined the Academy in June 2008. Farhan was principal at Adam Abdulle Academy in Rochester, Minnesota. Also he was cofounder of the Adam Abdulle Academy. He was director of technology at Higher Ground Academy in St Paul for six years. He taught at Minnesota Literacy Council for three years. He was one of the developers and board members for the Minnesota International Middle School in Minneapolis. He obtained a B.S. in Information Technology and Management from the University of Minnesota, M.S. in Project Management from Saint Mary’s University, advanced certificate for school administration from Saint Mary’s University, and Ph.D in Educational Leadership from University of North Dakota.

Languages: English, Somali, Arabic
fhussein@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Joshua Espinosa
English Teacher


jespinosa@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Summer Scharringhasusen
Art Education
Ms. Scharringhausen has a Bachelor’s Degree from Bethel University with a major in Visual Arts Education and a Minor in Spanish. She is also an assistant gallery director at Altered Esthetics in Northeast Minneapolis. Before teaching at Lighthouse, she taught at Franklin Middle School (Mpls) and Four Seasons Arts+ Elementary (StP), was a certified instructor/trainer for Caribou Coffee Company, and taught art for an independent after-school program. Summer and her husband enjoy camping, bike riding, and travel. She is a painter and enjoys the outdoors.

Languages: English, Spanish
sscharr@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
First Name Last Name Position Email
A Xiong Attendance/Truancy Coordinator
Classroom Support
axiong@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Abdiweli Mohamud Dean of Students aamohamud@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Ahmed Elmi Technology ahelmi@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Blair Mishleau Expository Writing
Composition
bmishleau@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Cheryl Donaldson Social Worker cdonaldson@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Connie Bruner Special Education cbruner@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Farhan Hussein Director fhussein@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Harrison Bachmann Geometry
Algebra I
hbachmann@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Jenna Rossiter ESL Level 2
ESL Level 3
jrossiter@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Jenny Smith Algebra II
AP Statistics
jsmith@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Joe Covert AP US History
Econ/Civics
US History
jcovert@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Jordan Humble Applied Science
Biology
jhumble@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Joshua Espinosa Literature in Politics
World Literature
jespinosa@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Justine Bjergo World History
Geography
jbjergo@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Katia Colon-Holmers Lead Teacher kcolon-holmers@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Kelly Rhodes Speech/Writing
College Prep
krhodes@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Leydi Millan Office Manager lmillan@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Lauren Ward Environmental Science
Chemistry
lward@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Megan Ormseth Foundations of Math
American Literature
mormseth@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Osman Ali Pre-Calculus
Stats/Personal Finance
oali@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Rugio Herzi Para-Teacher rherzi@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Summer Scharringhasusen Drawing
Painting
Art
sscharr@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Treacy Weldon ESL Level I
ESL Level 1/2
tweldon@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Trudy Suleiman District Assessment Coordinator
Academic Counselor
tsuleiman@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us
Zeinab Said Para-Teacher zsaid@lighthouse.charter.k12.mn.us



Lighthouse Academy of Nations
2600 26th Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55406 | Phone : (612) 722-2555 | Fax: (612) 729-2274 Google Maps
Web Design by Designs for Learning